This Day In History (October 7th): No Mercy 2007

On this day in professional wrestling history (October 7th, 2007), WWE presented No Mercy from the Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Illinois (A suburb of Chicago, Illinois).

This show is mostly remembered for featuring a record THREE WWE Championship matches.  At the beginning of the show RAW General Manager William Regal & WWE Chairman Vince McMahon awarded the WWE Championship to Randy Orton, Orton was scheduled to face John Cena for the title.  However, due to Cena suffering a torn pectoral muscle the week prior they awarded the title to Orton anyways.  Triple H came out to challenge Orton for the title, which Orton instantly rejected.  However McMahon agreed to honor Triple H’s request, thus Orton/HHH happened to kick off the show.  Triple H would defeat Orton to win the WWE Championship.  Later on in the evening, McMahon met with HHH backstage and noted that Triple H was originally scheduled to face Umaga at the event, and that the match would still go on as scheduled but with the added stipulation being that it would be a WWE Championship match.  Triple H would defeat Umaga to retain the WWE Championship.  Later in the show as Triple H was getting his ribs iced, McMahon informed HHH that Orton was invoking his rematch clause and it would be the main event of the evening, with another added stipulation, a Last Man Standing match.  Orton would defeat Triple H to win the WWE Championship.

Full results for No Mercy 2007:

    • Triple H defeated Randy Orton to win the WWE Championship
    • Mr. Kennedy, Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch defeated Jeff Hardy, Paul London & Brian Kendrick in a Six Man Tag Team Match.
    • CM Punk defeated Big Daddy V by DQ to retain the ECW Championship
    • Triple H defeated Umaga to retain the WWE Championship
    • Finlay vs. Rey Mysterio ended in a No Contest
    • Beth Phoenix defeated Candice Michelle to win the WWE Women’s Championship
    • Batista defeated The Great Khali in a Punjabi Prison Match to retain the World Heavyweight Championship
    • Randy Orton defeated Triple H in a Last Man Standing Match to win the WWE Championship